MINUTES OF THE MCDONOUGH COUNTY BOARD December 7, 2020

EXHIBIT 1

The McDonough County Board reconvened at the McDonough County Courthouse at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, December 7, 2020. County Board Chair L. Scott Schwerer called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll call resulted in 21 present and 0 absent.

EXHIBIT 2

Board Member Nissen moved with second by Board Member Mahr to approve the minutes of November 18, 2020. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 21 yeas and 0 absent as **Exhibit 2.**

EXHIBIT 3

Board Member Aurelio moved with second by Board Member Twaddle to approve the Resolution to Amend FY 2020. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 21 years and 0 absent as **Exhibit 3.**

EXHIBIT 4

Board Member Marcott moved with second by Board Member Mahr to Approve the State's Attorney Appellate Prosecutor Resolution. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 21 years and 0 absent as **Exhibit 4.**

EXHIBIT 5

County Board Chair Schwerer presented retiring Board Member Bob Mahr with a clock and thanked him for his 18 years of service to McDonough County.

Retiring Board Member Paul Trimmer was unable to attend. County Board Chair Schwerer acknowledged his 16 years of service.

County Board Chair Schwerer recognized retired Board Member Trevor Toland and thanked him for his 8 years of service to McDonough County.

Chair Schwerer entertained a motion that Days and Miles are checked, roll be called and the Board adjourn Sine Die. Board Member Marcott made the motion which was seconded by Board Member McGrew. Motion carried with roll call vote of 21 yeas and 0 absent. The meeting adjourned Sine Die at 7:18 p.m.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The McDonough County Board reconvened at the McDonough County Courthouse at 7:25 p.m. on Monday, December 7, 2020. McDonough County Clerk Gretchen DeJaynes administered the oath and swore into office recently elected Board Members Eric Chapman, and Cindi Helling, and re-elected Board Members Rod McGrew, Travis Hiel, Julie Melvin, Deckle McLean, Dick Marcott, Ken Durkin, Mike Kirby, Rod McGrew, Scott Schwerer, Mike Cox, Dave Nissen and Letha Clark.

Member Mahr drew the names for roll call order. Chapman, Litchfield, Melvin, Twaddle, Helling, Cortelyou, Schwerer, McLean, Marcott, Hiel, Foster, Calvert, Erendson, Clark, Nissen, Cox, Aurelio, Durkin, Dixon, Kirby, McGrew.

County Clerk DeJaynes called for nominations for a Chair Pro Tem. County Board Chair Schwerer moved with second by Board Member Nissen to nominate Travis Hiel as Chair Pro Tem. Hearing no other nominations Clerk DeJaynes declared Hiel Chair Pro Tem.

Chair Pro Tem Hiel called for nominations for County Board Chair. Member Nissen moved with a second by Member Aurelio to nominate Member Schwerer for County Board Chair.

Member McGrew raised concerns about the eligibility of Member Schwerer severing as Chair. After Discussion Member Aurelio moved with a second by Member Durkin to suspend the Rule concerning Chair limits for this elections. Motion carried with a Roll Call vote of 21 yeas 0 nays.

Schwerer was elected County Board Chair on a Roll Call vote 20 yeas Member Dixon Nay. Motion Carried.

Chair Pro Tem Hiel called for nomination for County Board Vice Chair. Member Schwerer moved with to nominate Member Aurelio. Member Melvin moved to nominate Member Mike Cox. Member Cox was elected County Board Vice Chair on a Roll Call vote of 12 (Litchfield, Melvin, Twaddle, Cortelyou, McLean, Marcott, Calvert, Erlandson, Clark, Cox, Dixon, McGrew) to 9 (Chapman, Helling, Schwerer, Hiel, Foster, Nissen, Aurelio, Durkin, Kirby).

Chair Pro Tem Hiel entertained a motion to adjourn until Wednesday, December 16, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. Board Member McGrew made the motion which was seconded by Board Member Kirby. With no further business to discuss the meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.